Lay Lady Lay…

Okay so as we all know no one  (at least in human form) is perfect. Sadly this was true of me on Sunday night.

We have this wonderful Shetland Sheepdog named “Lady”. She is a rescue from a very abusive situation and has been with our family since 2009. We love her dearly and want to make sure she has a life full of comfort and love compared to her former life.

Well, that being said let me tell you all what happened to poor Ladybugs as we call her. I took her for her final walk before bed. I must have been really really tired because I went in, shut the door and went to bed. The next morning my husband opened our front door and there was Lady! Apparently I had left her outside all night long! Normally this is not a problem but we currently live in a third floor walk-up while getting our ducks in a row to buy a house.

She was not very happy with me at all. In fact she ignored me pretty much the whole day. Not that I blame the poor puppy. I tried to pet her but she was too mad at me. That’s when it came to me. I’ll make her a batch of dog treats to make amends.

I couldn’t find one recipe I like so I decided to create my own. She likes them very much and if by some fluke of nature a person happens to grab one they won’t hurt them. They might taste funny though.

Lady’s Sheltie Pleasing Peanut Butter-Oat Cookies

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1 cup boiling water

2/3 cups peanut butter (spray the measuring cup with Pam to prevent sticking)

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup hot water (you might need more or less depends on your flour)

<><<><<><<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

In a large bowl stir the oatmeal and water together and let sit for about 15 minutes. Once the oatmeal looks “gluey” or lumpy add the peanut butter. (I use my stand mixer for this job). After the peanut butter is mixed in very good add the dry ingredients. Slowly add the water a little at a time until a nice ball forms.

On a cookie sheet sprayed to prevent sticking drop by spoonfuls and flatten down. Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes depending on how big you make them.

 

lady

Lady after a long day

 

Until next time…

Leave a comment

July 18, 2013 · 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

