My Very First Blog Hop!

It’s almost September everyone. The temperatures are starting to cool down, leaves are beginning to turn colors, the children have returned to school and people are starting to turn comfort foods like casseroles, roasts, warm drinks and desserts like apple pies, bread pudding and cakes.

In honor of this season of change I am hosting my very first official blog hop. The topic for this hop is “Favorite Fall Recipes”. I would love to be able to fill my recipe box with new and tasty recipes. I’m sure you all would have tons of great recipes that you’d love to share. ☺♥☺

I’ll share one of my favorite dessert recipes. It’s quick, tasty and stays moist if kept covered with aluminum foil.

Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cake with Broiled Frosting

1 1/2 cups boiling water
1 cup oatmeal
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 1/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup raisins, chopped dates,and nuts can be added

Icing

3 tablespoons butter
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Pour boiling water over oatmeal and set aside to cool. (I usually give it about 30 minutes to make sure it is good and cooled) Cream sugars and butter. Add: oatmeal, flour,soda,cinnamon, eggs, vanilla. Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes in a greased and floured 9×13 pan. Make icing while the cake is baking. Mix all icing ingredients,and spread on hot cake. Put under broiler for a few minutes til bubbly.

I have made this cake and served it warm without the icing. It is that good.

What is your favorite recipe? Please comment below with a link to it.

Until next time

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “My Very First Blog Hop!

  1. I was happy to linkup! Thanks for the invite! 🙂

  2. Thanks for letting me know about your blog hop!

    With all of the delicious apples that appear at markets in the fall, I’d like to share my recipe for apple cheddar bagel chips. A toasted day-old whole wheat or rye bagel + slices of crisp apple + melted cheddar cheese on top. Enjoy! http://www.sweetfoodie.com/2012/11/apple-cheddar-bagel-chips.html

  3. I linked up my Old Fashion Applesauce Bread recipe and giveaway!

  4. I will link up to a future one! I was not prepared with a recipe post! but I love the idea! I love dessert!

  5. Now doesn’t that sound yummy!! BB doesn’t really have recipes of her own, I just use the ones her fellow bloggers post. I’m most definitely gonna try this one! Best of luck on your Blog Hop. BB2U

Leave a Reply

