What a Fake!!

I’m going to start by that I am not the kind of person to go on a rant about things. I mean sure I have some set views on things and ideas but generally I’m pretty relaxed in my viewpoints. However, tonight I’m gonna get up on my little soapbox and speak my mind.

You’re prbably wondering “Oh,boy what has got her worked up so much?”  Easy-fake Christians.  Not the ones who you associate with cults like the group Jim Jones was associated, the Heaven’s Gate or the Branch Davidians. No I’m talking about the ones who pretend to know the Bible inside out and will tell you how you should be just like Jesus but will cross the street as to avoid being on the same sidewalk as a homeless person. These are the ones that irk me.

 

I’m not saying that we’re perfect. These fake Christian people drive me up a freaking wall.  I mean it’s one thing to not to want to talk to a homeless person but to deliberately cross the street to avoid them is entirely different. Some of these fake Christians are the first one to tell people their choice of music is wrong, they shouldn’t be watching certain movies or TV shows, that you should dress a certain way and so on. Sadly some of these people are the first ones to “force-feed” you their brand of Christianity.

First off we were blessed with free will! Yep, the good Lord gave us a brain so we would use it! Okay so sometimes we act before we think. History is full of folks who have done that. Guess what? We’re still here so it can’t be all that bad. Second we all have different views on how we should dress. Some people think that ladies should not wear pants while some feel ladies wearing pants is okay. There are people who think women should never cut their hair and there are people who see nothing wrong with a lady having short hair. Television and movies are a personal choice that we have to make based on what is best for ourselves and our families.

People who are searching for answers and wondering about Christianity are going to be turned off by these fake Christians. Who wants religion force fed to them? I surely wouldn’t that. I mean telling people about God is one thing but to scare them in an entirely different thing all together. Some of the best witnesses for the church are the least likely people. These are the ones who aren’t perfect but have their flaws. There is a a saying that goes  “that every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future. ” (It’s actually part of a quote by Oscar Wilde that reads in its entirety “The only difference between the saint and the sinner is that every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future.” Believe you me when I say that almost all the saints have a past. I learned this reading Colin Dickey’s Afterlives of the Saints  which tells the strange and bizarre history of some of the saints. I highly recommend reading it as well as his other book Cranioklepty: Grave Robbing and the Search for Genius. Both books are well written and incredibly fun to read. They were for me at least ). I look at it this way, just because you have a past doesn’t mean you can’t have a future.  We all have a future, what we decide to do with it is up to us.

Until next time…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

